Gratitude Series 60 – Please don’t hate me because I practice Dorje Shugden

Since day one I met H.E. Tsem Rinpoche right up till today I have never heard Rinpoche not even once said anything bad or negative about His Holiness the Dalai Lama. In fact Rinpoche has always spoken highly of His Holiness and He has actually invoked great respect and admiration in me and many students on His Holiness. Otherwise I do not think I would have such a high regard or even know who His Holiness the Dalai Lama is. So this has been consistent with Rinpoche from before right up till now. It is definitely not an act but a genuine respect that Rinpoche has for all His Gurus as well as other Lamas.

Rinpoche has instilled in us these same values of respecting Lamas and the sangha and to even have us learn and familiarise Tibetan etiquette so we may better serve the sangha. If anyone were to meet Rinpoche, immediately you’ll be able to tell that Rinpoche has no attachment to status, fame or fortune. Rinpoche’s goal since day one has always been to spread the Dharma so many can be benefited.

To say I am really lucky to have met Rinpoche is not even close to expressing how extremely fortunate I am to have come across a living Buddha. Someone like Rinpoche changes people’s lives, evokes the impossible in us and helps us transform our negative into positive; taming the monkey mind where previous Gurus have probably failed to do so. I am grateful for this consequence of my good merits (definitely from previous lives) that has allowed me to reconnect with a Maha Bodhisattva like H.E. Tsem Rinpoche. I am also grateful to be born in a country where religious freedom is still intact and advocated within a multiracial multicultural society. I am grateful to receive Dorje Shugden practice through Rinpoche, because if it wasn’t for Dorje Shugden I would have probably been dead by now. Dorje Shugden has protected me many times and saved me from accidents that would have costed me my life. Dorje Shugden not only helped and protected me but also helped my family and friends through their dark times.

I believe if we’re secure with our faith or anything in life for that matter, we will not need to put another person down to show we’re is right or better. Rinpoche is definitely someone who expounds the Dharma with no agenda and without having to put down other faiths or religion. Instead Rinpoche has always encouraged people to follow their own faiths diligently as all faith teaches universal peace, compassion, harmony and respect through the right conduct of one’s behaviour. I guess this is what made me and many others trust Rinpoche… this is one of the reasons I became a Buddhist.

Ever since Kechara decided to openly practice Dorje Shugden, many have come hurling very negative remarks and false accusations on Rinpoche as well as us Kecharians as a whole, many of them who do not even know us would crash into our social media page with their constantly negative remarks, harassing us for our beliefs. All this hate directed to us simply because our spiritual beliefs and the choices we made differs from the one made by His Holiness the Dalai Lama. Overnight we became like a plague, an enemy in the eyes of the followers of the Dalai Lama. How is it possible that followers of someone who teaches compassion, treat others without compassion but with hostility, lies, vulgarities and even death threats? How can logic and reason become non-existence, while discrimination, hatred and aggression became appropriate? Even if you wish to inform someone of their mistakes, especially if they do not even know you, you would not be rude and vulgar about it? It would just completely put the person you’re trying to convince off.

The only way to go about this to put a stop to this hostility and discrimination is to have peaceful reconciliation through dialogue, which His Holiness Himself is an avid promoter of such solutions. So I do not see why we cannot have this dialogue as it is the very advice given by His Holiness for interfaith harmony.

If we are to achieve peace and harmony on earth, we definitely need to stop causing hatred amongst people. Hence the plea by H.E. Tsem Rinpoche to His Holiness the Dalai Lama to end the Shugden conflict; to send representatives to engage in a peaceful dialogue with Dorje Shugden Lamas for the sake of humanity, for the sake of Buddhism, before Buddhism as a whole degenerates even further not through the worship of any deity but through anger and hatred caused by humans themselves.

Thank you Rinpoche for showing us courage in doing the right thing and speaking up for a much greater cause other than ourselves. As Martin Luther King says, “Injustice anywhere is threat to justice everywhere”.

Placard-044

Placard-045

Placard-033

Placard-062


Placard-064

 

Related Links:
My plea to His Holiness the Dalai Lama
Appeal to H.H. the Dalai Lama

What I Think of His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama?
I pray to what I want to | Tsem Rinpoche

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

