Gratitude Series #1

10505305_10152619122655477_1298874920748001433_nI wasn’t a #painter and definitely not someone who could or would paint Buddhas ever, if it wasn’t for His Eminence Tsem Rinpoche.

Rinpoche gave me my first ever “assignment” about 12 years ago… I got called to come in to the Dharma shop, Kechara Paradise SS2, and His assistant then gave me an assignment to paint a tiny #Tara tsa tsa, which I did horribly in! It was my first attempt in painting a Buddha image and little did I know it was never gonna be my last!
Rinpoche as we know is constantly helping others, from financially supporting His students (like me) to nurturing and developing their potential that would have never been brought out in ordinary circumstances. But this was no ordinary circumstance for not only does painting a Buddha image brings tremendous benefits of purification and merits, I’ve developed a unique skill I myself alone would have never done, and hence started my Dharma journey in Kechara…

Who would have thought that from a simple assignment of painting a Tsa tsa could bring someone like in to #Buddhism or spirituality?! Because of Rinpoche’s kindness in seeing my potential, and giving me that opportunity that opened up seeds and led me from one Dharma assignment to another.

Today not only can I paint #Buddha statues in Tibetan traditional style, I can antique them, beautify them with ornaments and filling them with traditional #mantras and teach others to do so. The most fulfilling part is being Rinpoche’s personal artist and when I’ve painted a Buddha statue that is being invoked upon by Rinpoche for puja prayers for many sentient beings, it makes my skill more “purposeful”, that it is #art that benefit “others”. When I think about it, it is true, everything stems from Guru! Even the skills I have today is because of Rinpoche, and I am ever greatful for this! Thank you Rinpoche x

 

This is one of the happiest times in my life... I was painting Buddhas till kingdom come in KPSS2 and even got a friend, Beckie to join in to help paint. It was also therapeutic for her as she going through a crossroad in her life. I really enjoyed every single day and night, even slept in KP but it was really fun, therapeutic and definitely one of my most treasured memories. Thank you Tsem Tulku Rinpoche for giving me the opportunity to paint Buddhas.

This is one of the happiest times in my life… I was painting Buddhas till kingdom come in KPSS2 and even got a friend, Beckie (a Catholic girl) to join in to help paint. It was also therapeutic for her as she going through a crossroad in her life. I really enjoyed every single day and night, even slept in KP but it was really fun, healing and definitely one of my most treasured memories. Thank you Tsem Tulku Rinpoche for giving me the opportunity to paint Buddhas.

2 thoughts on “Gratitude Series #1

  1. Hi Joy, nice seeing you writing your thoughts and the experience being closed with your Lama. I always see you as a painter or artistic type of person. 🙂 heheh

    Like

  2. Pingback: Gratitude Series #19 | Time To Give Back

Leave a Reply

